
I wanted to move a file in a Sharepoint document library to another location in Sharepoint. I select the option to move it and get the page shown above.
I was expecting to get an option to browse to a destination location. Instead, Sharepoint only gives me an edit field into which I can type a destination URL. Perhaps this is a feature intended to discourage moving of files.
when software discombobulates
20100125
Entered by: Ben Simo
Sharepoint copy
20100124
Entered by: Ben Simo
It will no longer appear on other sites
I upload an image to Google's Picasa Web Albums using the Picasa Photo Viewer's quick upload feature. This puts the image into a Drop Box album. From here, I try to move the image to another album.

After selecting the option to move the photo, I am warned that moving a photo from one album to another will break any web links to the image.

In this case, I have't yet linked to the image and click the OK button.
However, I have many other images that I would like to reorganize. If not for this limitation, I would move photos into different albums than where they currently reside.
In my opinion, the organization of my photos into albums should not be related to the URLs to display individual photos on web sites.
20091228
Entered by: Ben Simo
No to All?

Every version of Microsoft Windows I can remember displays a message similar to the above when copying or moving files and it finds duplicate files or folders in the destination path.
When copying dozens (or hundreds, or thousands) of files, checking this message and clicking Yes for each item can take hours (or days). Selecting Yes to All can be useful when it is known to be safe to overwrite files in the destination folder. However, sometimes a warning would be helpful.
So where is my No to All button with reporting/logging of what didn't get copied/moved?
Comment

