I clicked the Blogger "Publish Post" button and got the above error page. I clicked the back button and it took me to a version of the blog post prior to my latest edits. My data was lost.
No one else should have access to edit the blog post. I may have accidentally double-clicked the publish button, but that certainly should not change a data save feature into a data loss feature.
when software discombobulates
Showing posts with label Publish. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Publish. Show all posts
20110902
Problem ID: 4663597106786898869
Entered by: Ben Simo
Entered by: Ben Simo
Conflicting edits
20091229
Problem ID: 7936640294950081966
Entered by: Ben Simo
Entered by: Ben Simo
20091221
Problem ID: 4171293397269442871
Entered by: Ben Simo
Entered by: Ben Simo
Blogger Time Warp
It is December 21st, 2009. I schedule a blog post to be published on January 3rd, 2010. I click the Publish Post button and the post gets published immediately instead of being scheduled for January 3rd, 2010.
My browser's auto-complete shows that I typed "1/3/10" into the publish date field.
I then edit the post and change the publish date to "1/1/10" to reschedule the post to be published in the future. I click the Publish Post button and the post gets republished immediately but with the specified future date displayed above the post. I see the post on the site today with a date that is nearly two weeks into the future.
It took some fiddling to get the post scheduled to be published in the future. Now, you'll have to wait for 2010 if you didn't see that post during the short time it was visible. :-)
Is Blogger a time machine? ;-)
Comment



